Is God a Goddess?

I recently received a comment from a reader who was upset that I referred to God not only as God but also as Goddess and wanted to know if I thought God was a Goddess.

Doing a little research on the names of God, gee there are many. Maybe everone is right. I do not see God as an elderly gentleman with a long flowing white beard, but if someone else does and that is how they relate to the Divine, so be it and bless them for believing in a Power Greater than themselves.

My prayers usually include Mother, Father, God, The Light of Christ, Spirit, Universe…  These are all words, which as humans it seems impossible that we could wrap ‘”The All that IS” into one little neat word or phrase.

I use the word God because it is commonly accepted in having a discussion. I don’t think God has the same ego dynamics as human beings and is an all pervading presence.

Maybe the question between God and Goddess is, are we comfortable knowing and experiencing The Divine in the feminine?

I do think and feel that the Divine, Great Spirit, Supreme Being, Lord, OM – AUM, The All, The Universe, Father, Mother, recognizes the call from all inspired hearts regardless of culture or semantics and is beyond distinctions and differences.

It would be wonderful to hear what you have to contribute to the exploration of unity!

Leave a comment